Band Baaja Baaraat, 2010

Directed by: Maneesh Sharma


I cannot praise this film enough. I’ll spare you the sap and the laudatory gushing that I usually provide and stick to the facts: this is the most refreshing romanic comedy I’ve seen in a long while.

It was honest, it was real, it was cute, it gave me plenty of melt and it had heaps of heart.

Anushka Sharma is probably in my Top 5 for current actresses. She’s so bubbly, so full of life and her face is so open and charming that you’re just sucked right into her art capacity for storytelling. The fact that she actually can act speaks volumes and sets her apart from other current leading ladies.

I’m not going to name names but we all know the handful of girls I’m talking about.

Ranveer Singh, the new boy, was totally charming. For some reason I was especially fixated on his teeth, but he also has the “it” factor that could very well propel him towards becoming a great star. He’s coy, lovable, does a good puppy-dog face and has a sense of self depreciating humor that is really quite endearing.

The filmography and photography was rough around the edges but for a first time director I’m more than willing to look beyond small little nitpicks. Overall my only persistent annoyance was the way the actors would be shot having a face-to-face conversation. Speaking directly into the camera rather than each other; breaking the fourth wall and creating an awkward break in illusion. Asides and clever nods to the knowledge of an audience are some of my favorite tricks but only when used smartly and with a direct purpose. In BBB it just felt like we, the audience, were involved in the characters’ conversation, and since there was no reason for us to be there we shouldn’t have been.

Maneesh Sharma gets a huge thumbs up from me on his presentation of the sex scene. (And if you didn’t know there was one, well, there you go…) It wasn’t tacky, it wasn’t thrown in for shock value and it did not become a fiasco. Yes, the physical relationship between the characters caused problems but the actual display of them having sex didn’t.  The build-up and treatment of all of the lovey-dovey parts was really commendable. There was tension, there was excitement, and the audience was well rewarded for their emotional investment.

While the songs themselves were rather lackluster, lacking just the teeniest bit of umph to make them truly good; the picturizations were superb. Special mention must go to the song shot in monochromatic costumes, scenery and flowers. I literally felt my breath catch in my lungs. Fantastic. Superb. The other songs were productions such as I haven’t seen in a while. They teeterd on the edge between “showstoper” and “superfluous” without going over the edge and instead were visual delights.

While the story was not new in the context of its genre it was presented in a delightfully fresh way. There was an honesty and a strong sense of “we’re not going to bullsh*t you” that had me feeling at many times that they had plucked situations, emotions and dialogue from my own romantic experiences. At times, as most romatic comedies are prone to doing, it borders on cheese and extremes that are not altogether realistic but these small moments are easily overlooked in the grand scheme of the narrative.

At the end of this film you’ll be chipper, you’ll probably have a grin on your face and you’ll be full of bubbles. It may not be a classic in the making, but it is leaps and bounds ahead of some of its peers.

2 thoughts on “Band Baaja Baaraat, 2010

  1. I seriously can't wait to see this. Every interview I've seen with Ranveer has shown him to be sweet and adorable and awesome and I already love Anushka, plus the story just seems so fun. I'm sad I'll have to wait til it comes out on DVD. :(

Leave a Reply

