Pyaar Kiye Jaa, 1966

Directed by: C.V. Sridhar

This is a movie I wanted to screen cap the life out of. It was full of so many great moments, but I only got the opening credits because the sound on my media player was AWFUL, and the DVD seemed to only work (in a bizarre twist of weirdness) in a proper player, like, attached to my big screen and surround sound and stuff. (Imagine!) But, the opening credits are just as precious as the rest of the
fillum. Tres cute and cartoony.



I liked all the songs from this film, they’re all so fun and catchy and fabulously Late 60s. The incidental music was exactly like watching some kitschy Teen Beach movie where they all dance the jitter bug and have little bows in their beehives. 

I could post ALL of the songs to this post, but I’ll save you. Instead I’ve just wasted about 30 minutes watching them all, Shashi is so steamy, Kishore is so jolly, Mumtaz is so Mumtaz (which is to say, bombshell).

As I was watching this I couldn’t decide which Shashi I like better, early Shashi (as seen here) where he is innocent, prone to over-acting, cute, wide-eyed and eager OR later Shashi (say, the delicious 70s) where he developed THE VOICE and smolders through the celluloid because he know he can reduce women to piles of pudding just by breathing. Hm. My problem with early Shashi is that it is SO much like early Shah Rukh; I’ve heard that darling Mr. SRK moulded his technique after the famous actors of yore and it’s just so annoyingly on-spot to the Shashi that I get irritated. 

As a performer I know all about drawing inspiration, but the point isn’t supposed to become that person… unless you’re an imitator or doing a biography film. I won’t deny that Shah Rukh grew into his own (most notably in his most recent handful of films) but ….

This isn’t a blog about SRK

And I liked the film because it was just good hearted Bollywood fun! The KishoreShashi-bromance was too cute for words. There were disguises, mistaken identifies, pyaaar (of course pyaar) heroic rescues of radio transmitters from canals, non-violent protests and happy endings. 

It’s not a film meant for in-depth analysis, just fluffy happy thoughts to give you a boost and a good mood, and that is the best kind of movie, in my book. 

One thought on “Pyaar Kiye Jaa, 1966

  1. That second clip there, Shashi is definitely channeling brother Shammi in his dancing style. Cognitive dissonance!And if you're new to Kishore Kumar, definitely make sure to see Chaalti Ka Naam Gaadi asap.

Leave a Reply

