Luck by Chance, 2009

Directed by: Zoya Akhtar
I loved how this movie started out. The credits with all of the “behind the scenes” people was just my favorite. I appreciate and adore when you get to see the people behind the magic, as a performer myself I know that nothing, absolutely nothing could happen without those people, and I love them.
Saddly, it all just went downhil from there. And quickly.
I don’t know if it was all the digs at the Indian Film industry but for most of the movie I felt like I should be ashamed of liking it. I don’t know how you can pull off a movie that mocks and ridicules the people paying to watch your movies, but Akhtar tried. Perhaps it’s all susposed to be done light heartedly and tongue-in-cheek but it just didn’t come off that way to me, at the end I was left feeling unfulfilled, unhappy and like I should rethink my hobbies.
That being said, there are some moments that were redeeming. The look of the movie was very appealing on the eyes. Had I turned off the subtitles and just watched I think I might have enjoyed myself a lot more had I just looked at it. It was very lush.
I squeeled with delight when I saw my two B’Wood super crushes Shahrukh and Karan Johar acting as wise and learned sages to the new “it” boy Vikram (Farhan Akhtar). And I found Konkona Sen Sharma’s perfomance truly worth praise. She had a very subtle and electric way of acting that I just enjoyed. Juhi Chawla was also fun to watch as the outlandish and very funny wife of a big-time but struggling director.
The whole moral of the film, not losing who you are in order to, or as you become what you aspire to be, is a theme that’s nicely explored and at the end you are left a little more placiated by Sonam’s decion to be happy in what she’s doing rather than miserable because she can’t fulfil her dream.
More than anything this film just left me greatly unsatisfied and if it wasn’t the attack on the B’Wood industry it was something else that I can’t quite place my finger on. I might give it another shot sometime, but for right now I’m moving on.P.S. I must admit that I was under the influence of a very demanding muscle relaxer while watching this film which might have colored my view of it… though doubtful.

Leave a Reply

