The Horcrux of my Childhood

Yes I am a few weeks away from turning 21, but I still went to the midnight release of Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince. 

E and I reading the book while waiting for the movie to start…
as always, the book is better. ;)

Judge me if you will.
The first HP book came out in the middle of my 4th grade year and it was the first thing I ever went home to my parents and used the phrase “but everyone else” is reading it! The last book came out the summer after my freshman year of college. It significantly spanned my childhood and (my favorite) the teen years and later early adulthood. Of course I was going to say “yes” when asked by a group of friends to accompany them to the midnight showing of the sixth movie.
It was an event, to be sure.
We went to dinner at Red Robin, ate too much, had the slowest waitress in the universe, and somehow managed to eat ice cream afterwards as well. We arrived at the theatre, rushed around like madmen to find a theatre that would seat the 10 of us and waited for 2 hours for it to start. E did homework. E (another one) and I read the book. There were technical difficulties, it didn’t start until 1 a.m. It ended at 4 a.m. I got home at 4.30 a.m. I was so glad my classes had been cancelled today.
You know it’s the week before finals when you work on papers at midnight movies…
I forgot, however, that I hated book six until I was halfway through the movie. O well. They also added  A LOT of stuff that either didn’t happen or was totally irrelevant…as well as making the plot really dumb and watered down.
I’m not complaining.
Movies are never as good and I don’t expect them to be, all I care about is that this saga of my life is quickly coming to an end and I need to find a coping mechanism. Perhaps I should start having children so I can read HP to them. Keep the traditions alive and all that.
One thought on “The Horcrux of my Childhood

Leave a Reply

